Senator Ketron congratulates Rutherford County Reward Schools

(NASHVILLE, TN), August 4, 2015 — State Senator Bill Ketron (R-Murfreesboro) today congratulated Cedar Grove Elementary, Central Magnet School, McFadden School of Excellence, Stewarts Creek Elementary School and The Discovery School @ Reeves- Rogers for being named Reward Schools. Reward Schools are the top five percent of schools in the state for performance as measured by overall student achievement levels, and the top five percent for year-over-year progress as measured by school-wide value-added testing data. These 10 percent of schools receive recognition for their success under the state’s accountability system.

“This is a tremendous honor for these schools,” said Senator Ketron. “I congratulate these hard working students, caring parents, inspiring teachers and great administrators for a job well done.”

In June, Governor Bill Haslam and Education Commissioner Candice McQueen announced Tennessee students made significant gains in all high school subjects and in the majority of subjects in grades 3-8. High school scores on the 2015 Tennessee Comprehensive Assessment Program (TCAP) continued to show strong growth for the third consecutive year, increasing in all seven tested subjects across English language arts, math and science.

Since 2011, 131,000 more students are on grade level in math, and nearly 60,000 more students are on grade level in science.

“We have made incredible progress statewide,” Ketron added. “This progress will not only help our student’s lives individually, but it moves our state forward as well. I look forward to continuing to see the great things that will come as a result of this progress.”

Posted in News